Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Kim Jong-un named Sexiest Man Alive for 2012

   I'm a big fan of parodies and satire. I like to relax by watching all good "literal versions" on YT, because they show the nonsense of some MVs out there (I'm torn between some of them in naming the winner though).
I'm a big fan of SNL institution and humour, not the newest one, but the seasons with good ol' cast like Tina Fey, Rachel Dratch and Darrell Hammond, and I must say SNL Korea has picked up the nice flow too.
Yet sometimes satire falls flat in the Land of Morning Calm. And we all know, when satire is not understood, it ceases to BE a satire.

The satirical website (and used to paper too, if I remember right, but I may be mistaken) Onion named the sexiest man alive. And it looks like a small fact that Onion is no-truth-and-seriousness-whatsoever source escaped the redactors in Asia.
Below quote is from KoreaTimes:

The Onion has announce that North Korean supreme leader Kim Jong-un, 29, has officially been named the newspaper’s Sexiest Man Alive for the year 2012.

“With his devastatingly handsome, round face, his boyish charm, and his strong, sturdy frame, this Pyongyang-bred heartthrob is every woman’s dream come true,” the paper reported.

“Blessed with an air of power that masks an unmistakable cute, cuddly side,” Kim made the newspaper’s editorial board swoon with “his impeccable fashion sense, chic short hairstyle, and, of course, that famous smile,” according to the paper.

“He has that rare ability to somehow be completely adorable and completely macho at the same time,” Onion Style and Entertainment editor Marissa Blake-Zweibel said.

“And that’s the quality that makes him the sort of man women want, and men want to be. He’s a real hunk with real intensity who also knows how to cut loose and let his hair down.”

Added Blake-Zweibel, “Ri Sol-ju is one lucky lady, that’s for sure!”

With today’s announcement, Kim joins the ranks of The Onion’s prior “Sexiest Man Alive” winners, including:
· 2011: Bashar al-Assad
· 2010: Bernie Madoff
· 2009: Charles and David Koch (co-winners)
· 2008: Ted Kaczynski
· 2007: T. Herman Zweibel